Nutrition Myths
Do oats contains gluten?


  • Oats don’t contain gluten, unless they are contaminated.
  • The gastrointestinal symptoms from eating oats most likely occur due to high amounts of fiber or a reaction to avenin.
  • If you have been diagnosed with celiac disease and decided to re-introduce oats, you should start gradually and observe if any symptoms occur.

Do oats contain gluten?

Since 1950’s, when wheat was linked to celiac disease, oats were also considered as gluten-containing cereals, and thought to trigger celiac related symptoms.

In the last 15 years, however, studies proved that oats do not contain any gluten, unless they are contaminated with this protein from other gluten containing grains.

A small amount of people with celiac disease have an adverse reaction to oats but the problem is in another protein present in oats, called avenin.

Avenin contains amino acid sequences similar to that of wheat gluten.

That explains why some people with celiac disease have no problem with oats while others do.

It is estimated however that only 1% of celiacs react to a large amount of oats due to avenin.

Another problem with oats is that the grain is often produced and packaged by the same manufacturers who deal with wheat, rye or barley.

That means that ‘contamination’ of oats with the grains with gluten is very possible even likely, making oats dangerous for people with celiac.

To be on the sure side, dietitians recommend that people with celiac disease should remove oats from their diet when they start the gluten-free regime, to give their intestinal lining time to recover. It might take about year or so. (1, 2)

There are many companies these days that offer uncontaminated, gluten-free oats.

Related Posts

How to identify trans fats on a food label? Familiarize yourself with the labeling laws in your country and learn how to identify hidden trans fats.
Why we are not protected in Australia and NZ against trans fats? Since there are no restrictions on trans fats production and their labelling is not mandatory, Australians and New Zealanders have no way to avoid foods high in industrially produced trans fats.
Are sulfites harmful? Sulfites are found in wine and in some foods. Only a small percentage of the population is sulfite-sensitive (mostly asthmatics). They can experience mild to severe (rare) symptoms of sulfite allergy.
What is trans fat? Trans fats come from 3 sources: generated through partial hydrogenation; consequence of some cooking methods; from dairy and meat of ruminant animals.
Milk allergy symptoms and causes Milk allergy, or dairy allergy, is an adverse immune response to the protein in cow’s milk, that mainly affects children. The symptoms depend on the amount of dairy consumed and the severity of the allergy and include vo...

Get updates

Receive regular updates on nutrition myths, facts and curiosities. All based on the latest scientific evidence.