Nutrition Myths
Do oats contains gluten?

SUMMARY

  • Oats and oatmeal don’t contain gluten, unless they are contaminated.
  • The gastrointestinal symptoms from eating oatmeal most likely occur due to high amounts of fiber or a reaction to avenin.
  • If you have been diagnosed with celiac disease and decided to re-introduce oats, you should start gradually and observe if any symptoms occur.
Advertisement

Does oatmeal have gluten?

Since 1950’s, when wheat was linked to celiac disease, oats were also considered as gluten-containing cereals, and thought to trigger celiac related symptoms.

In the last 15 years, however, studies proved that oats do not contain any gluten, unless they are contaminated with this protein from other gluten containing grains.

A small amount of people with celiac disease have an adverse reaction to oats but the problem is in another protein present in oats, called avenin.

Avenin contains amino acid sequences similar to that of wheat gluten.

That explains why some people with celiac disease have no problem with oats while others do.

It is estimated however that only 1% of celiacs react to a large amount of oats due to avenin.

Another problem with oats is that the grain is often produced and packaged by the same manufacturers who deal with wheat, rye or barley.

That means that ‘contamination’ of oats with the grains with gluten is very possible even likely, making oats dangerous for people with celiac.

To be on the sure side, dietitians recommend that people with celiac disease should remove oats from their diet when they start the gluten-free regime, to give their intestinal lining time to recover. It might take about year or so. (1, 2)

There are many companies these days that offer uncontaminated, gluten-free oats.

Related Posts

Are sulfites harmful? Sulfites are found in wine and in some foods. Only a small percentage of the population is sulfite-sensitive (mostly asthmatics). They can experience mild to severe (rare) symptoms of sulfite allergy.
Is milk from cows fed with hormones bad for you? Milk from cows injected with bovine growth hormone has an increased amounts of IGF-1, pus from the mastitis caused by growth hormone, and may contain antibiotic-resistant bacteria from antibiotics used to treat this mast...
Can you die from drinking too much water? Drinking above the kidney's ability to filter water (between 800 and 1000 ml per hour) may result in hyponatremia, which can cause swelling of the brain and lead to death.
What is trans fat? Trans fat come from 3 sources: generated through partial hydrogenation; consequence of some cooking methods; from dairy and meat of ruminant animals.
Are the amounts of toxic metals in gourmet salts dangerous? Gourmet salts contain some amounts of toxic metals. The amount of toxic elements is below the maximum tolerable safe level and therefore does not present any health danger.
Advertisement
Advertisement

Get updates

Receive regular updates on nutrition myths, facts and curiosities. All based on the latest scientific evidence.